> Home > News > Press_releases > 06_01_2005

Hartnell College Recognizes Outstanding Faculty and Non-Teaching Staff

June 1st, 2005

About 40 Hartnell College instructors and non-teaching staff members were recognized recently at the 19th annual Faculty and Staff Awards Ceremony for their outstanding contributions to the college, which is celebrating its 85th anniversary this year.

College President Edward J. Valeau commended the honorees for “their leadership and dedication to Hartnell College. These hardworking faculty and staff members contribute so much to what makes our college an institution that is synonymous with excellence. They are the backbone of Hartnell College.”

One of the highest honors for outstanding efforts - the Gleason staff award - was presented to custodial supervisor D.C. Washington. Earlier in the month, art/photography instructor Eric Bosler was presented with the Gleason faculty award.

The Gleason awards are presented annually by the Hartnell College Foundation and were established by the late Roy and Phyllis Gleason of King City.

Outstanding performance awards were presented to four faculty members - Jesse Cude, physics instructor; Cheryl O'Donnell, computer science and information systems instructor; Melissa Reeve, English/English as a Second Language (ESL) instructor; and Lisa Storm, administration of justice instructor.

Four non-teaching staff members also received outstanding performance awards. They were: Bruce Brandt, computer and telephone technician; Lenni Chavez, financial aid specialist; Oscar Reyes, maintenance worker; and Betty Rivera, library technician.

Three supervisors were presented excellence awards - Art Alvarado, grounds supervisor; Edwin Baptista, maintenance operations supervisor; and D.C. Washington, custodial supervisor.

Excellence awards for managers went to MaryHelen Dorado, director of financial aid, and Kathleen Rose, dean of fine arts, language arts and social sciences.

Awards of excellence also were presented to employees with confidential status and staff members who belong to the California State Employees Association and Local 39.

Also recognized were five staff members who are retiring this year. Together they have given Hartnell a total of 109 years of service. They are John Karnofel, agriculture instructor, 29 years; Robert Beery, construction technology instructor, 25 years; John Selonke, swimming pool custodian, 23 years; Josephine Crawford, international student advisor, 20 years; and Karen Anderson, student development assistant, 11 years.

Longevity awards were presented to the following individuals: 15 years of service - Larry Mankins, physical education instructor, and Aurelia Vacaflor, Spanish instructor; 10 years of service - D.C. Washington, custodial supervisor; 5 years of service - Olga Galvan, admissions and records technician, Romero Jalomo, director of Extended Opportunity Program and Services, Peter Lucido, director of purchasing, and Cesar Perales, instructional specialist.

For more information about the faculty and staff awards ceremony, call Cicely McCreight, Hartnell's director of institutional advancement at (831) 755-6810.